32 nations to remove China from preferential tariff treatment on December 1 , Business & Economy News

China Customs has announced that 32 nations would no longer grant favourable tariff treatment to Beijing from December 1, even as an economist predicted that labour-intensive enterprises will face the brunt of the change, Taiwan News reported on November 3.

According to the Hong Kong-based online news portal HK01, 32 nations would remove China from their trade preference lists of recipients of duty-free tariff treatment of certain items. The reports cited a statement recently made by the General Administration of Customs of China (GACC). 

Watch | Gravitas: A $8 trillion debt time bomb that China hid

However, the GACC praised the action as “an acknowledgement by other advanced economies that China no longer belongs in the category of low-income and lower-middle-income nations, and that Chinese products are competitive enough in the market to require no protection.” 

Also read | China opposes US revocation of China Telecom licence

China has been accorded preferential treatment since 1978, and more than 40 nations have provided or continue to offer it duty-free status on some goods.

Watch | Concerns continue to loom over Chinese Evergrande group

China will no longer be eligible for GSP trade benefits from 27 EU nations, the United Kingdom, Canada, Turkey, Ukraine, and Liechtenstein as of December 1, leaving the country with only three options: Norway, New Zealand, and Australia. 

China’s low-margin, labour-intensive industries would be the hardest hit, potentially hastening the movement of manufacturing from China to other developing countries.

(With inputs from agencies)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please disable the adblocker to see the content.