DMK man wins the Chair of Periyakulam Panchayat Union

By Express News Service

THENI: A DMK cadre, Thangavel, received the Panchayat Union Chairperson publish by securing 9 of the 16 votes in the oblique election held right here on Monday for the Periyakulam block. It could also be recalled that earlier the oblique ballot was deferred as a result of lack of quorum.

There are 16 wards in the Periyakulam block, of which DMK received eight seats and AIADMK received six, whereas AMMK and DMDK received one every in the rural native physique election that was held final 12 months. Having secured the highest quantity of votes, ward 7 and eight Councillors – Thangavel and Selvam contested for the Chairperson publish.

According to sources, when Selvam switched to AIADMK, the DMDK cadre supported AIADMK and the AMMK cadre supported DMK, leaving each events with an equal quantity of Councillors. However, as a result of lack of quorum, the ballot was deferred three consecutive instances in the previous 12 months.

Later, after Thangavel moved the case to the Madurai Bench of Madras High Court, the courtroom directed the officers to conduct the election earlier than February 15. Adhering to the courtroom’s order, Sub Collector D Sneha carried out the polls right here on Monday.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button