English County Championship returns to two-division format

The English County Championship will return to a two-division construction from subsequent season after two coronavirus-affected campaigns, the England and Wales Cricket Board introduced on Thursday.

The Bob Willis Trophy was launched in 2020 and a three-group construction used for this 12 months’s first-class competitors.

Next 12 months, 10 groups will play in division one and eight groups in division two, with a two-up, two-down promotion-and-relegation system.

Each county will likely be positioned into the division they’d have been set to compete in had the 2020 County Championship taken place.

ALSO READ | T20 World Cup 2021: Finch confident of Australia’s success; Williamson seeks early momentum

Lancashire, Northamptonshire and Gloucestershire gained promotion to Division One and Nottinghamshire have been relegated to Division Two.

The return to two divisions, with every crew taking part in 14 matches, was voted by means of by the first-class counties.

Division One: Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Division Two: Derbyshire, Durham, Glamorgan, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Sussex, Worcestershire

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button