Euro 2020: Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher name their England starting line-ups vs Croatia

Gary Neville and Jamie Carragher have revealed who they’d choose to begin for England in their opening sport of Euro 2020 in opposition to Croatia on 13 June.

The Sky Sports pundits agreed on eight gamers that they imagine Gareth Southgate will embody from the beginning of the event throughout Monday Night Football. Though the pair disagreed over the starting right-back with Carragher remaining loyal to Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold and Neville choosing Manchester City’s Kyle Walker.

The pair additionally selected their 23-man squads for the tournament, with the controversy growing into what method Southgate ought to go for. As a outcome, a disagreement broke out over whether or not to incorporate Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford or Aston Villa’s Jack Grealish within the entrance three.

Neville argued his case for Rashford by claiming he would offer an added menace on the counter-attack: “Against Croatia, still try and get on the ball, but [select Rashford] to have that penetration on the counter-attack. I think that set-pieces and counterattacks will be important in this tournament for England.”

While Carragher urged England to get on the ball extra and use Grealish: “A level below a [Eden] Hazard, he can get on the ball and provide something different. If other countries had him, I don’t think it would be a debate.”

Read extra:

Jamie Carragher’s England XI vs Croatia

Jordan Pickford, Trent Alexander-Arnold, John Stones, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw; Jordan Henderson, Declan Rice, Mason Mount, Raheem Sterling, Harry Kane, Jack Grealish

Gary Neville’s England XI vs Croatia

Dean Henderson, Kyle Walker, John Stones, Harry Maguire, Luke Shaw; Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice, Mason Mount, Raheem Sterling, Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button