Netflix is finally cracking down on password sharing in the US, after announcing the controversial move late last year.
You can still share your Netflix password, but if you do it with anyone outside of your household, you’ll need to pay extra. The password-sharing fee is $8/month per person in the US, on top of whatever you already pay for your Netflix plan. Users on the standard plan can add one person outside of their household, while premium users can add up to two.
You do have the option to not pay these password-sharing fees, but then your friends or family won’t be able to access their profiles on your account.
If you currently have a profile on someone else’s account, and you’re not expecting them to pony up the extra money to maintain your profile, you can transfer it over to a new account, that you’ll need to pay for, so that you can keep your recommendations, save lists and other settings.
In this guide, we’ll show you how to find and enable Netflix’s Transfer Profile feature on your profile, and how to transfer your existing profile to a separate account.