Gram Panchayat election 2021: Voting underway in 34 districts of Maharashtra

Polling in over 14,000 Gram Panchayats in 34 districts of Maharashtra is underway. There are 27,920 Gram Panchayats in Maharashtra, barring Mumbai metropolis and Mumbai suburban. Polling will finish at 5.30 pm, besides in 4 tehsils of Gadchiroli and Gondia districts, the place voting will finish at 3 pm.

The State Election Commission had introduced the dates for the polls in December final yr. The mannequin election code of conduct got here into power instantly after the announcement.

There 20,000-odd seats in the state the place members have been elected unopposed, an election fee official mentioned.

Apart from this, 14 villages have boycotted the Gram Panchayat elections to press for his or her demand to be a component of the Navi Mumbai (*34*) Corporation. With 14 villages boycotting the elections, 5 Gram Panchayats in the district is not going to go to polls on Friday, January 15, the official mentioned.

Meanwhile, the State Election Commission had introduced that these affected by coronavirus an infection or people who find themselves quarantined can forged their vote half an hour earlier than the polling ends.

The physique temperature of voters who usually are not affected by COVID-19, however reside in containment zones might be checked twice, it was said. Voters whose physique temperature is increased than the prescribed restrict might be given tokens, and so they can forged vote half an hour earlier than the polling ends, the Commission had mentioned in a press release launched.

All the polling centres and materials/tools have been sanitised in view of the elections, the Commission mentioned.

However, the ballot course of has been cancelled for Umrane and Khondamali Gram Panchayats in Nashik and Nandurbar districts respectively after it acquired proof of public auctioning of the posts of sarpanch and members of the native governing our bodies, reviews steered.

The district-wise tally of Gram Panchayats going to polls are as follows: Thane (158), Palghar (3), Raigad (88), Ratnagiri (479), Sindhudurg (70), Nashik (620), Dhule (218), Jalgaon (783), Ahmednagar (767), Nandurbar (86), Pune (748), Solapur (658), Satara (879), Sangli (152), Kolhapur (433), Aurangabad (618), Beed (129), Nanded (1,015), Osmanabad (428), Parbhani (566), Jalna (475), Latur (408), Hingoli (495), Amravati (553), Akola (225), Yavatmal (980), Washim (152), Buldhana (527), Nagpur (130), Wardha (50), Chandrapur (629), Bhandara (148), Gondia (189) and Gadchiroli (362).

The counting of votes will happen on January 18.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button