Guntur Municipal Corporation going to polls after 11 years

By Express News Service

GUNTUR: After 11 years, native physique polls are being held in Guntur throwing up attention-grabbing potentialities. The time period of the final elected council of the Guntur Municipal Corporation (GMC) expired within the yr 2010 and since then the GMC is being headed by a Special Officer who can also be the District Collector. The extended courtroom instances over the merger of neighbouring villages had delayed the elections to the civic physique.

However, due to courtroom instances, elections won’t be held in Tadepalli, Mangalagiri, Ponnur, Bapatla and Narsaraopeta municipalities. Elections may also be not held within the newly-formed Dachepalli and Gurazala municipalities as the method of delimitation of wards is underway. 

Villages akin to Gorantla, Reddipalem, Budampadu, Etukuru, Adavitakkelapadu, Nallapadu, Chowdavaram and Pothur, which have been merged with the GMC not too long ago, will go to polls on March 10.  Guntur district has one municipal company and 12 municipalities. The metropolis has 57 divisions – 14 earmarked for unreserved candidates, 16 seats reserved for ladies, 19 seats reserved for BCs, seven seats reserved for SCs and one seat reserved for ST.

Guntur Municipality was upgraded right into a municipal company in 1994. The first election was held in 1995. The earlier council was headed by the Congress and the final Mayor was Rayapati Mohana Sai Krishna.

Many candidates have already began campaigning for civic polls. It could also be talked about that as many as 571 nominations have been filed in 57 divisions within the metropolis. Of which, 557 nominations have been accepted. A complete of 1,024 nominations had been filed in seven municipalities — Tenali, Sattenapalli, Chilakaluripeta, Repalle, Macherla, Vinukonda and Piduguralla. Guntur East constituency has 2,35,598 voters — 1,14,811 males and 1,20,748 ladies. Guntur West constituency has 2,71,911 voters — 1,32,990 males and 1,38,870 ladies.

 Arrangements for city native physique elections
The district administration has appointed 87 returning officers (ROs), 87 extra ROs and 243 election officers. As many as 1,078 polling stations had been arrange within the district
A complete of 10.74 lakh voters will train their franchise within the civic polls on March 10 and the outcomes will probably be introduced on March 14 

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button