IND Vs SL: Dhawan Captain, Bhuvi Vice-Captain & Dravid Coach For ODI & T20 Series | Check Full Squad

New Delhi: BCCI has announced India’s squad for the 3-match ODI and T20I series against Sri Lanka. Shikhar Dhawan is India’s captain for the series while pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named vice-captain. The team is completely different from the team that has travelled to England to play the World Test Championship Final. 

This announcement has cemented the speculations about BCCI’s two-team approach. i.e, two different teams for two different formats. 

Check Out India’s Full Squad Below: 

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (Wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (Wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (Vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya

The series will be played from 13 July 2021. Three ODIs will be played on 13, 16 and 18 July respectively. While the 3 T20Is will be played on 21, 23 and 25 July 2021. 

Rahul Dravid has been appointed as head coach for this series. 

Reason for having 2 different teams? 

Team India has chosen a completely different side for Test matches and for the limited-overs series. The reason being that team India will be staying in England as they will have to undergo a mandatory quarantine after the WTC Final. 

Players who performed well in the Indian Premier League (IPL) have been given preference. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul and Deepak Chahar, Chetan Sakariya, are some of the new faces in the team. The young team India will have a chance to display their ability and win it for India. 

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button