India’s Schedule For WTC 2nd Edition Announced; NZ To Tour India In November

During the entire first edition of the ICC World Test Championship, Indian cricket team dominated the points table for two years on the basis of its consistent impressive performance.  But on reaching the final, India missed out on winning the title, where it lost to New Zealand by eight wickets.

However, the Indian team would like to move on and now concentrate on the second edition of ICC World Test Championship. ICC has released the schedule for the second edition of the WTC, which is to be played from July 2021 to 2023.

The Indian team will play six Test series in the second edition of the WTC. Out of these six series, India will play three series at home. The Indian team will start the second edition of the WTC with a five-match Test series to be held on the tour of England from August 4.

After the England series, India will host New Zealand for a two-match Test series in November, where they will have a chance to take revenge of the loss in the WTC final.

After hosting New Zealand, Team India will tour South Africa for a three-match Test series, which will be played from December 2021 to January 2022.  After this, India will host Sri Lanka for a three-match Test series in early 2022 itself. This will be the second home series for the Indian team in the second edition of the WTC.

The Indian team will play the third home series against Australia.  Both the teams will face each other in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy for a four-match Test series. India has won both the previous Border-Gavaskar Trophy held in Australia.  Team India is then scheduled to tour Bangladesh for a two-match Test series.

India’s WTC schedule 2021-23:

India tour of England (5 Test matches)

England vs India, First Test, August 4-8

England vs India, Second Test, Lord’s, August 12-16

England vs India, Third Test, Headingley, August 25-29

England vs India, Fourth Test, Kennington Oval, September 2-6

England vs India, Fifth Test, Old Trafford, September 10-14

– New Zealand tour of India (2 Test matches)

– India tour of South Africa (3 Test matches)

– Sri Lanka tour of India (3 Test matches)

– India tour of Bangladesh (2 Test matches)

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button