It’s a battle of turncoats in Maski bypoll- The New Indian Express

By Express News Service

KALABURAGI: With lower than a fortnight to go for the by-election to the Maski Assembly phase, the combat is narrowing down between the ruling BJP and the Opposition Congress. JDS has not fielded a candidate right here.The two conventional rivals, BJP candidate Pratap Gowda Patil and Congress’ Basanagouda Patil Turvihal, are pitted in opposition to one another, although each of them have switched events because the 2018 Assembly elections.

In 2018, Patil, as a Congress candidate, gained in opposition to BJP’s Turvihal by a slender margin of 213 votes. However, in the modified state of affairs, Patil has moved to the saffron get together, whereas Turuvihal has jumped to the Grand Old Party. Patil was amongst 17 MLAs of the Congress-JDS mix who converted to the BJP over a yr in the past, serving to BS Yediyurappa kind the federal government.

As the by-elections had been necessitated with Patil switching events, the BJP gave him the ticket as promised. Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa kicked off Patil’s election marketing campaign on March 20 and promised voters that he’ll go to all of the six zilla panchayats in the phase earlier than polling. Helping Patil can also be the confirmed BJP strategist B Y Vijayendra, get together state vice-president, who has been campaigning vigorously for the final three days. 

On the opposite facet of the ballot battle, each Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president D Ok Shivakumar and Congress Legislature Party chief Siddaramaiah accompanied Turvihal when he filed his nomination papers on March 29. On Monday, Siddaramaiah launched his two-day marketing campaign, whereas Shivakumar will hit the marketing campaign path on Wednesday and Thursday. 

Patil has gained three consecutive elections — 2008, 2013 and 2018 — from Maski. The final two victories, nonetheless, are on a Congress ticket.“Though Patil won twice as a Congress candidate, his victory margin last time was only 213 votes. It is difficult to predict the results this time,” opined political consultants. The constituency has 2.06 lakh voters — 1.01 lakh males, 1.05 lakh ladies and 13 others.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button