JP Atray Memorial Tournament: Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association beat Ranstar Cricket Club Delhi, lift cup

Tribune News Service

Mohali, September 12

Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) beat Ranstar Cricket Club Delhi by 75 runs in the rain-truncated JP Atray Memorial Tournament final at IS Bindra PCA Stadium here today to lift the Trident Cup.

The match was reduced to 20 overs a side due to rain.

Batting first, HPCA rode on skipper Prashant Chopra’s half-century to score 175/3 in the allotted quota of overs.

HPCA had a solid beginning as Chopra and Shubham Negi put on 84 runs for the first wicket.

The duo was separated in the 12th over when Negi was stumped by Puneet Bisht off Rahul Chaudhary on 35.

Ekant Sen, who replaced Negi at the crease, made 20 runs before he was caught by Chetanya Bishnoi off Chaudhary. Chopra, meanwhile, smashed 72 off 48 balls to propel HPCA to a challenging total. He was the last wicket to fell in the HPCA innings, caught by Pradeep Malik off Pradeep Prashar.

Chaudhary (2/24) was the most successful bowler for Ranstar Club.

Needing to score 8.80 runs per over victory, Ranstar Club lost wickets at regular intervals and were all out for 100 runs in 15.2 overs.

Naveen Kanwar (3/15) and Ayush Jhamwal (3/28) shared six wickets between them, while Vipen Sharma bagged 2/21.

For Ranstar Club, Sumit Verma made 36 runs, while Pradeep Malik contributed 26 runs to the chase.

Kanwar was named man of the match, while Chopra was adjudged man of the series. HPCA’s Akash Vashisht got the best bowler award and PCC’s Nehal Wadhera received the best batsman award.

Punjab Minister OP Soni awarded Rs2 lakh to the winning side, while Ranstar Club got Rs1 lakh.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button