Karaikudi remains Congress bastion, H Raja loses again

Express News Service

SIVAGANGA: Though a senior member of the social gathering’s Tamil Nadu unit, BJP chief H Raja has as soon as didn’t make his mark. This time, he was defeated by a newcomer, INC candidate S Mangudi, in Karaikudi Assembly constituency. H Raja contested with 12 contestants, together with INC’s Mangudi, NTK’s N Durai Manickam, AMMK’s Dherpoki V Pandi. While Mangudi received the seat by securing 75,954 votes, H Raja grew to become the runners-up by securing 54,365 votes. With this victory, INC retained its seat, which was received by Okay R Ramasamy within the 2016 Assembly election.

According to the cadre of the alliance social gathering, BJP had given him many alternatives however he was profitable solely as soon as. He was given the ticket 3 times every for Assembly and Parliamentary elections. He was the Sivaganga MP candidate in 2019, 2014, 1993; he misplaced all of the 3 times. He misplaced each in 2016 and 2006 Assembly elections from Alandur and Thyagaraya Nagar constituencies. His solo election victory was from Karaikudi Assembly constituency in 2001, they mentioned.

According to them, although Raja was the face of the social gathering within the constituency and performed a significant function in getting ready the social gathering’s election manifesto, neither his personal constituency manifesto nor the social gathering manifesto impressed the individuals. The social gathering’s leaders from the central additionally didn’t canvass votes for him, apart from Prime Minister Modi, who attended a public assembly in Madurai. Besides, he stirred controversies together with his statements many a time beforehand. All these components may need gone in opposition to him, they opined.

While the opposite BJP candidates like Dr C Saraswathi, MR Gandhi, Nainar Nagendran and Vanathi Srinivasan emerged as winners, H Raja is a kind of unsuccessful candidates that the social gathering pinned hopes on, together with Annamalai, L Murugan and Khushboo Sundar.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button