Mamata prevented communal forces from taking the reins in Bengal: Abhijit Mukherjee

Calling Mamata Banerjee a shield against the “communal” BJP, late President Pranab Mukherjee‘s son Abhijit Mukherjee said on Monday that All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) supremo Mamata Banerjee has prevented the communal BJP from taking the reins in Bengal.

“I personally felt when Didi managed to stop the BJP in Bengal, with the help of other parties, she will stop the BJP at the national level in future. She is the future face of opposition,” Abhijit Mukherjee said as he joined AITC today, putting an end to all speculation over his joining the party for the last few weeks.

The former Congress MP from Jangipur in Murshidabad was in talks with the TMC leadership for the past few weeks and also met the Trinamool national general secretary Abhisek Banerjee.

AITC secretary general Partha Chatterjee said, during the joining programme, “The Opposition, who are anti-BJP, have come together with Mamata Banerjee as their face. BJP. Abhijit’s joining will strengthen the fight against the BJP. For us, late Pranab Mukherjee was a mentor and beloved person, who always gave us suggestions.”

The former President Pranab Mukherjee’s son Abhijit Mukherjee, who is also a former Congress MP, was welcomed into the party by TMC leader in Lok Sabha Sudip Bandopadhyay and AITC secretary general Partha Chatterjee, amid chants of ‘Mamata Banerjee Zindabad!’

Thanking party supremo Mamata Banerjee, Abhijit said, “I have joined AITC and received the party’s primary AITC membership. I would like to thank Mamata Didi and Abhisek Banerjee.

“I don’t hanker for any post. I have joined AITC to serve people as a grassroots worker and it is up to the party to decide how to use me. I did not hold any post in the Congress and did not even join AITC before the polls. For me, it is like shifting from one Congress to the other,” Abhijit Mukherjee said.

Abhijit Mukherjee, former Member of Parliament from Jangipur Lok Sabha constituency and an MLA for the Indian National Congress from Nalhati Assembly Constituency in 2011.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button