Pakistan name 9 uncapped players for Tests vs South Africa


Pakistan has named 9 uncapped players for the two-match house check sequence towards South Africa that begins later this month.

New chief selector Mohammad Wasim stated Friday that he wished to reward rookie players like batsman Kamran Ghulam and quick bowler Tabish Khan for their constant performances in home cricket.

Ghulam topped the scoring chart on this season’s premier first-class match by scoring 1,249 runs within the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

The 36-year-old Khan made his first-class debut within the 2002-03 season and has taken 598 wickets together with 30 this season.

Khan is predicted to interchange quick bowler Mohammad Abbas, who has been dropped after a pointy decline in his wicket taking potential that noticed him selecting solely 25 wickets in his final 13 check matches.

“Tabish Khan is more effective and useful in Pakistan conditions,” Wasim stated. “Tabish is a workhorse who can bowl long spells with controlled line and length. He is a like-to-like replacement for Mohammad Abbas in the given conditions.”

The selectors have additionally dropped opening batsman Shan Masood and middle-order batsman Haris Sohail after Pakistan was routed 2-0 by New Zealand within the check sequence with common skipper Babar Azam lacking the whole sequence on account of a fractured thumb.

Azam has recovered and can lead the aspect towards South Africa.

Young quick bowler Naseem Shah, opening batsman Imam-ul-Haq and allrounder Shadab Khan weren’t thought-about for the sequence due to accidents.

“Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas and Shan Masood have been dropped due to inconsistent performances,” Wasim stated. “Shan’s bad form has opened doors for Abid Ali’s new partner, be it either Abdullah Shafique or Imran Butt, who was last (domestic) season’s top scorer. Together with Abdullah, he was in New Zealand with the Shaheens side.”

Fast bowler Hasan Ali has regained health from his again drawback and returns two years after final enjoying a check match towards South Africa in 2019. Ali impressed selectors along with his stellar efficiency this season in home cricket the place he took 43 wickets and in addition scored 273 runs.

The Pakistan Cricket Board stated that every one 20 players now transfer right into a bio-secure bubble in Karachi, which hosts the primary check from Jan. 26.

Rawalpindi will host the second check from Feb. 4-8, adopted by a three-match Twenty20 sequence in Lahore. The squad for the Twenty20 sequence will likely be named later.

Wasim stated the squad will likely be trimmed to 16 players, in response to his coverage of ‘horses for courses’ near the primary check.


Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Fawad Alam, Kamran Ghulam, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Yasir Shah, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Tabish Khan.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button