Punjab Municipal Election Results 2021: Congress Wins Big in Urban Body Polls, Returns to Bathinda After 53 Years

Punjab Municipal Election Results 2021: The Congress has retained its maintain in Punjab because it registered a giant victory in the state native physique polls. Making a clear sweep, the ruling Congress bagged all seven municipal firms of Hoshiarpur, Kapurthala, Abohar, Pathankot, Batala, and Bathinda. The victory in Bathinda is a giant one as the town is returning to the Congress fold after 53 years. The native physique polls, held amid the farmers protest, can also be being seen as a referendum on the agriculture legal guidelines. Also Read – Nepal Raises Objection to Tripura CM’s ‘BJP Has Plans to Expand Party in Neighbouring Countries’ Statement

The Bathinda Lok Sabha seat is represented by Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD)’s Harsimrat Badal. Her social gathering just lately broke its alliance with BJP following variations over farm legal guidelines. The Bathinda city meeting seat was represented by Congress MLA Manpreet Singh Badal, a cousin of SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal. “History has been made today! Bathinda will get a Congress Mayor for the 1st time in 53 years! Thank you to ALL Bathinda residents. Congratulations to the people of Bathinda for a spectacular victory. Kudos to all Congress candidates and workers, who toiled for this day,” tweeted  Manpreet Singh Badal. Also Read – Punjab Municipal Election Results LIVE: Congress Sweeps Urban Body Polls, Big Setback For BJP Amid Farmers Protest | Updates

The present situation might be perceived as a serious setback for BJP because the elections have been held amid farmers’ protests. The SAD breaking away from the BJP appears to have modified the dynamics of the latter in the state. Also Read – Congress leader Tells Party Workers To Donate Liquor, Money To Revive Farmers’ Protest | Video

The counting of votes began at 9 am for elections to 2,302 wards of eight municipal firms and 109 municipal councils in the state. The State Election Commission had ordered on Tuesday repolling at two polling cubicles of the Mohali Municipal Corporation. Therefore, the counting for your entire civic physique will happen on Thursday. Tight safety preparations have been made on the counting centres, they additional stated.

Over 70 per cent voting was recorded in the civic physique elections on February 14.

A complete of 9,222 candidates have been in the fray, of which 2,832 have been independents, 2,037 from the ruling Congress and 1,569 from the Shiromani Akali Dal. The BJP, AAP and the BSP had fielded 1,003, 1,606 and 160 candidates respectively.

The BJP and the Akali Dal, which walked out of the National Democratic Alliance final yr over the farm legal guidelines challenge, have fought the elections individually.

(function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); = id; js.src = “”; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s); = id;
js.src = “”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button