Ten drivers to watch in Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Buschy McBusch race at Kansas Speedway

Ten drivers to watch in Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Buschy McBusch Race 400 at Kansas Speedway:

Kevin Harvick, No. 4 Ford

Harvick is one in all 4 drivers to win three Cup races at Kansas Speedway — most just lately in the spring of 2018 — and owns a file 4 second-place finishes. Harvick, the 2014 collection champion, made his file 1,198th begin throughout all three NASCAR collection final week at Talladega however has but to win in 2021 for Stewart-Haas Racing regardless of seven Top 10 finishes. He completed fourth final summer season at Kansas and second in the autumn.

Denny Hamlin, No. 11 Toyota

Hamlin, 39, has received thrice at Kansas Speedway, together with the summer season race in 2020. Hamlin, thought-about the perfect lively driver not to have received a Cup championship, sits atop the standings by 87 factors forward of Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Martin Truex Jr. on the power of eight top-five finishes in 10 begins however continues to be searching for his first win of the season.

Brad Keselowski, No. 2 Ford

Keselowski, the 2012 Cup champion, has received twice at Kansas Speedway, each in the spring of 2011 and 2019 and was second final July. Keselowski, 36, is coming off his first win of the season for Team Penske and thirty fifth of his profession at Talladega, giving him 11 straight seasons with at least one victory and locking in post-season berths for all three Penske drivers (together with Joey Logano and Ryan Blaney).

Chase Elliott, No. 9 Chevrolet

Elliott, who has changed his father, Bill, and former teammate Dale Earnhardt Jr., because the Cup collection’ Most Popular Driver, is the reigning collection champion, although he’s nonetheless searching for his first win of 2021 for Hendrick Motorsports. Elliott, 24, received the autumn race at Kansas in 2018 and was fourth and second in the 2 2019 races.

Joey Logano, No. 22 Ford

Logano, the 2018 Cup champion, is a three-time winner at Kansas, profitable back-to-back in 2014-15 and final fall’s playoff race for Team Penske, tying for his most victories at any observe (Michigan, Talladega). Logano, 30, who owns 27 profession wins, is already locked into the 2021 playoffs by advantage of his win on the dust in Bristol.

Martin Truex Jr., No. 19 Toyota

Truex, the 2017 collection champion, is the one driver to win each Cup races in a season at Kansas Speedway when he pulled off the sweep in 2017. He practically made it three straight however completed second in the 2018 spring race. Truex, 40, owns two wins this season, at Phoenix and Martinsville, for Joe Gibbs Racing. He completed third and ninth in the 2 races at Kansas in 2020.

Kyle Larson, No. 5 Chevrolet

Larson, 28, is searching for his first win at Kansas, however has three top-10s in 4 begins, main 161 laps. Larson missed all however the first 4 pre-pandemic races final 12 months whereas serving a suspension, however signed by Hendrick Motorsports, he received at Las Vegas, the same 1.5 mile observe to Kansas Speedway for his seventh profession win.

William Byron, No. 24 Chevrolet

Byron, 23, retained fourth place in the standings together with his runner-up end at Talladega final week. Byron prolonged his top-10 end streak to eight races, beginning together with his win at Homestead in February. Byron’s run is the longest top-10 streak for a Hendrick Motorsports driver since Dale Earnhardt Jr. from October 2013 to March 2014.

Alex Bowman, No. 88 Chevrolet

Bowman, 28, is driving the Hendrick Motorsports No. 48 Chevrolet that Jimmie Johnson received thrice at Kansas Speedway. Bowman received two weeks in the past at Richmond. He has made 11 begins at Kansas with a finest end of second when he led 63 laps in the 2019 spring race. He completed eighth and third in the 2 2020 Kansas occasions.

Christopher Bell, No. 20 Toyota

Bell, 26, ranks tenth in the standings on the power of profitable on the Daytona Road Course, two top-five finishes and five-top 10 finishes for Joe Gibbs Racing. Bell, of Norman, Okla., posted his first profession Xfinity Series at Kansas in 2017.

Related tales from Raleigh News & Observer

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button