Vijay Hazare: Iyer’s ton helps Mumbai beat Maharashtra by six wickets – Deccan News

Jaipur: Mumbai rode right here on the unbeaten 103 of captain Shreyas Iyer on Tuesday to beat Maharashtra by six wickets of their Elite Group D match of the Vijay Hazare trophy.
It was Mumbai’s second consecutive victory after beating Delhi within the lung opener.

Maharashtra most well-liked to bat first and posted 279/9, whereas Yash Nahar (119) and Azim Kazi (104) have been centuries outdated, regardless of skilled Mumbai pacemaker Dhawal Kulkarni (5/44) passing by means of their high order. But it was Iyer, who anchored the chase in Mumbai and noticed them at residence in 47.2 overs.

Ruturaj Gaikwad (19), captain of Maharashtra, couldn’t convert his begin and was caught by Kulkarni in entrance of the wicket. Kulkarni then wreaked havoc when he fired Naushad Shaikh (0), the skilled Kedar Jadhav (5) and Ankit Bawane (0) in fast succession when Maharashtra bowled at 8/4 in 8.5 overs.

However, Nahar and batsman Kazi, quantity six, had different plans they usually not solely received the group out of bother, however took them to an honest place with their 214 run rely across the fifth wicket.

Nahar hit seven most four-and-sixs in his 133 balls, whereas Kazi performed the right second fiddle, whereas the duo tackled the Mumbai bowlers underneath the steerage of India striker Shardul Thakur (1/57), who scored the performed after being launched from India. group. Kazi beat 12 boundaries and two sixes in his 118 innings.

When Nahar was run out by Shams Mulani, Maharashtra was prepared at 6/264 and he may then solely add 15 runs. Chasing 280, Mumbai starters Yashasvi Jaiswal (40) and Prithvi Shaw (34), 67, topped the primary wicket.

Iyer, who stepped on three, was in his parts and hammered 9 boundaries and one six, in his unbeaten beat and after Jaiswal perished, he discovered succesful companions in Suryakumar Yadav (29), Shivam Dube (47), then they performed their roles. to perfection.

Dube took the sport away from Maharashtra, together with his punch, 5 fours and a six, and Mumbai on the verge of a victory. The formalities have been accomplished by Iyer together with Sarfaraz Khan (15 not out).

Short counts

Maharashtra 279/9 (Yash Nahar 119, Azim Kazi 104; Dhawal Kulkarni 5/44, Shardul Thakur 1/57) misplaced with Mumbai 280/4 (Shreyas Iyer 103 not out, Shivam Dube 47; Satyajeet Bachhav 3/59) with six wickets.

Delhi 354/4 (Nitish Rana 137, Dhruv Shorey 132; Sagar Trivedi 2/66) beat Pondicherry 175 (S Suresh Kumar 42; Kulwant Khejroliya 4/32, Pradeep Sangwan 2/27) by 179 runs.

Rajasthan 199 (Mahipal Lomror 67, Arjit Gupta 45; Rishi Dhawan 6/27, Vaibhav Arora 1/24) misplaced to Himachal Pradesh 201/6 (Rishi Dhawan 73 not out, Prashant Chopra 39; A Singh 2/46, Ravi Bishnoi 2/60) with 4 wickets.

Source: Telangana Today

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button