Vijay Hazare Trophy: Iyer’s ton helps Mumbai beat Maharashtra by six wickets

Hundreds from opener Dhruv Shorey and Nitish Rana helped Delhi rating a thumping 179-run win over Pondicherry in a Pool D match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day event right here on Tuesday. Chasing a frightening 355, Pondicherry was bowled out for 175 in 39.3 overs.

No. 3 batsman Suresh Kumar top-scored with 42 off 53 balls for Pondicherry. Left-arm seamer Kulwant Khejroliya took 4 for 47 in eight overs.

Earlier, Delhi, put in to bat, was in some bother when pacer Sagar Trivedi struck twice within the sixth over, dismissing Shikhar Dhawan and Himmat Singh, leaving the crew at 25 for 2.

Shorey (132, 142b, 13×4, 3×6) and Rana (137, 106b, 21×4, 1×6) added 255 for the third wicket to assist Delhi attain 354 for 4 in its allotted 50 overs.

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Chandigarh stuns Bengal, wins by five wickets


Mumbai’s batsmen succeeded in going previous Maharashtra’s 279 for 9 in a match between two acquainted rivals. Skipper Shreyas Iyer (103 not out, 99b, 9×4, 1×6) led from the entrance to take his aspect residence with six wickets and a couple of.4 overs to spare.

There had been additionally helpful contributions from openers Yashasvi Jaiswal (40, 66b), Prithvi Shaw (34, 38b) and Shivam Dubey (47, 39b).

Also learn:
R. Ashwin, the all-rounder’s triple-double


There had been two centuries within the Maharashtra innings — Yash Nahar (119, 133b, 7×4, 6×6) and Azim Kazi (104, 118b, 12×4, 2×6) — however no different participant reached 20. Seamer Dhawal Kulkarni took 5 for 44 for Mumbai.

In the day’s different Pool D match, a superb all-round efficiency from Rishi Dhawan powered Himachal Pradesh to a four-wicket victory towards host Rajasthan with 16.3 overs remaining.

After taking six for 27 (from 8.5 overs) together with his seam bowling, he smashed an unbeaten 73 off 64 balls (11×4, 1×6) to steer the chase of a modest goal of 200.

Scores: Elite D (Jaipur):

Maharashtra 279/9 in 50 overs (Yash Nahar 119, Azim Kazi 104, Dhawal Kulkarni 5/44) misplaced to Mumbai 280/4 in 47.2 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 40, Shreyas Iyer 103 n.o., Shivam Dube 47).

Delhi 354/4 in 50 overs (Dhruv Shorey 132, Nitish Rana 137) bt Pondicherry 175 in 39.3 overs (S. Suresh Kumar 42, Kulwant Khejroliya 4/32).

Rajasthan 199 in 47.5 overs (Arjit Gupta 45, Mahipal Lomror 67, Rishi Dhawan 6/27) misplaced to Himachal 201/6 in 33.3 overs (Rishi Dhawan 73 n.o.).

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button