Voting begins, 3,998 candidates in fray

Tamil Nadu will witness the polling for the meeting elections on Tuesday amid tight safety in the state. Polling throughout 234 meeting constituencies in 38 districts of the state will start at 7 am. A complete of 3,998 candidates are in the ballot fray.
In view of COVID-19, the variety of polling stations has been elevated to 88,937. The counting of votes will likely be accomplished on May 2.
The state, which witnessed the fiercest electoral battles between M Karunanidhi of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and J Jayalalitha of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) for over three many years, now could be going to Assembly polls on April 6 for the primary time with out the 2 stalwarts of Dravidian politics.
All it is advisable to know
Tamil Nadu is witnessing a fierce battle between arch-rivals All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK). MK Stalin-led DMK, which is out of energy since 2011 in the state, is in a head-to-head battle with the ruling AIADMK in practically 130 constituencies.
AIADMK is contesting the poll in a pre-poll alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Paattali Makkal Katchi (PMK).
PMK and BJP are contesting in 23 and 20 constituencies respectively in the 234-member Tamil Nadu meeting whereas the AIADMK has fielded its candidates for the remainder of the seats.
While the DMK has allotted 25 seats to its Congress occasion, and 6 every for CPI, CPI (M), Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK) and Vaiko’s Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK).
Besides AIADMK and DMK, actor-turned-politician Kamal Hassan’s Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) and the alliance between TTV Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) and Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) are promising to provide the third different in the state.
In the 2016 meeting elections, the AIADMK gained 134 seats, the DMK bagged 80 seats and Congress managed to safe solely 8 seats. The BJP drew a clean. In 2019, the DMK-led entrance had gained 37 of the 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu in the final elections.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button